Philippe Truche’s Blog

20 August 2011

Throwing SOAP Faults in a WCF service being mindful of non-WCF clients

Filed under: .NET, WCF, Web Services — Tags: , , , , , , — Philippe Truche @ 9:28

I was engaged recently to design and write a WCF service that is to be consumed by an ASP.NET 2.0 client.  While I was aware that with a WCF service and a WCF client, using a System.ServiceModel.FaultException<TDetail>  was ideal for handling exception conditions, I wasn’t sure how this was going to be handled by .NET 2.0 since FaultException<TDetail> was introduced in .NET 3.0 – in .NET. 2.0, a SOAP faults are caught with  a System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException.

So off to trial and error I went and here is what I proposed.

Firstly, it is important to write a WCF service that can be consumed by a WCF client as well as a non-WCF client.  To this end, throwing SOAP faults should be done in a manner that both WCF clients and non-WCF clients can understand.  My first step was to make sure I had a standard WCF service with a WCF client that could understand the SOAP faults.  I created a DataContract for the SOAP fault I wanted to throw when certain conditions were met:

///<summary>
/// Thrown when no matching MPI is found.
/// </summary>
[DataContract(Namespace = WcfConfiguration.XmlNamespace)]
public class MpiNotFoundFault
{
	private string _mpi;

	///<summary>
	/// Gets or sets the MPI.
	///</summary>
	[DataMember]
	public string Mpi
	{
		get { return _mpi; }
		set { _mpi = value; }
	}
}

I  then specified my FaultContract on the service interface definition as follows:

[ServiceContract]
public interface IMyPinService 
{
	[OperationContract] 
	[FaultContract(typeof(MpiNotFoundFault), Name ="MpiNotFoundFault", Namespace = WcfConfiguration.XmlNamespace, Action = WcfConfiguration.XmlNamespace +"/MpiNotFoundFault")] 
	bool RequestPin(string mpi, DateTime dob);
}

So far, so good.  Now, let’s see how we might throw this SOAP fault in the service implementation.  For the WCF client to work, I threw the exception as follows:

public bool RequestPin(string mpi, DateTime dob) 
{
	// Code elided
	throw new FaultException<MpiNotFoundFault>(new MpiNotFoundFault() { Mpi = mpi });
}

Then, in the WCF client, all I have to do is this:

// With a WCF client, we can catch specific exceptions and get to each fault contract&quot;s 
// contents by accessing the ex.Details propery.
catch (FaultException<MpiNotFoundFault> ex)
{
	Console.WriteLine(“MPI {0} was not found.“, ex.Detail.Mpi);
}

Yes, WCF does a lot of work for us.  However, when your client is not WCF, SOAP faults get a little bit more complicated.  Fortunately, there is a SOAP specification that can be referred to.  The SOAP 1.2 specification on soap faults is located here: http://www.w3.org/TR/soap12-part1/#soapfault.  Notice I am introducing you to SOAP 1.2, not SOAP 1.1.  Yet, in the .NET 2.0 framework, when you use wsdl.exe to create a proxy class, the SOAP 1.1 protocol is defaulted.  That’s somewhat of a problem because is SOAP 1.1, faults may only have a faultcode and a faultstring.  It wasn’t until SOAP 1.2 that hierarchical codes and subcodes were defined.  To see the difference between the two, see http://hadleynet.org/marc/whatsnew.html#S3.1.4.

Why is this important you ask?  Well, if in my ASP.NET client (that does not know anything about WCF) all I have is a SoapException, then I’d like to use the code and subcode of the faults to communicate detail about the exception (of course, my service consumer is a trusted source and will filter the information appropriately before passing it on to its users, but that’s another topic entirely).

Here is what I want to do. In my ASP.NET client, I want to check the code and subcode to understand what the nature of the problem was.  Here is what my ASP.NET catch statement looks like this:

// In WCF we can catch specific exceptions by using FaultException<T> where T is one of the fault contracts 
// included in the service operation. In contrast, ASP.NET web services only allow for catching SoapException. 
// To get to the detail, use the SOAP Fault Code and Subcode as shown below. 
catch (SoapException ex)
{
	// The SOAP fault code always contains the string ‘CredentialValidationRequestFailed’
	Debug.WriteLine(ex.Code.Name); // prints the string "CredentialValidationRequestFailed"
	// The SOAP fault subcode contains the actual soap fault name without the Fault suffix
	Debug.WriteLine(ex.SubCode.Code.Name); // prints the string "MpiNotFound"
}

By doing this, I can see that my call failed because of a CredentialValidationRequestFailed code.  This code could occur for any number of reasons.  In this example, it occurred because of an MpiNotFound subcode, but I have another 3 subcodes that could have been the cause of the fault.

So what do I need to do to achieve this? Well I need to use SOAP 1.2 for sure.  On the service side, I configure the service using an HttpBinding. By default, this binding uses SOAP 1.1. and it can’t be changed. To use SOAP 1.2 for message encoding, I create a custom binding. My configuration file now looks like this:

  <system.serviceModel>
    <bindings>
      <customBinding>
        <binding name="basicHttpSoap12Binding">
          <textMessageEncoding messageVersion="Soap12"/>
          <httpTransport/>
        </binding>
      </customBinding>
    </bindings>
    <services>
      <service name="MySoap12Service">
        <endpoint address="" binding="customBinding" bindingConfiguration="basicHttpSoap12Binding"
          bindingNamespace="MySoap12ServiceNamespace"
          contract="MySoap12Service">
        </endpoint>
      </service>
    </services>
  </system.serviceModel>

On the client side, I use wsdl.exe to generate the proxy class; instead of letting the default SOAP 1.1 protocol apply, I pass in the protocol switch to specify the SOAP 1.2 protocol should be used as follows:  wsdl.exe /protocol:SOAP12. This causes the generated proxy to specify the SOAP 1.2 protocol in its constructor:

public partial class MyService : System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol {
    // code elided
        
    public MyService() {
        this.SoapVersion = System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapProtocolVersion.Soap12;
        // code elided
    }
    
    // code elided

Then, I need to throw my SOAP faults with a bit more information.  Here is the revised code snippet for throwing a SOAP fault that can now be understood by non-WCF clients:

throw new FaultException<MpiNotFoundFault>(new MpiNotFoundFault() { Mpi = mpi },
	String.Format(CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, “MPI ‘{0}’ not found.“, mpi),
	new FaultCode(“CredentialValidationRequestFailed“, new FaultCode(“MpiNotFound“, WcfConfiguration.XmlNamespace)));

That’s it.  I throw the FaultException<MpiNotFoundFault> exception, passing in a new MpiNotFoundFault object into the constructor, then I pass in the reason as the “MPI ‘xyz’ not found” string, and then I create my code and subcodes.  And voila, I have happy WCF clients and happy non-WCF clients.

On the wire, the SOAP fault looks like this:

<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://www.w3.org/2003/05/soap-envelope">
  <s:Header />
  <s:Body>
    <s:Fault>
      <s:Code>
        <s:Value>s:CredentialValidationRequestFailed</s:Value>
        <s:Subcode>
          <s:Value xmlns:a="MyNamespace">a:MpiNotFound</s:Value>
        </s:Subcode>
      </s:Code>
      <s:Reason>
        <s:Text xml:lang="en-US">MPI '123123' not found.</s:Text>
      </s:Reason>
      <s:Detail>
        <MpiNotFoundFault xmlns="MyNamespace" xmlns:i="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
          <Mpi>123123</Mpi>
        </MpiNotFoundFault>
      </s:Detail>
    </s:Fault>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>
3 Comments »

  1. Have you ever thought about publishing an
    e-book or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would really
    like to have you share some stories/information. I know
    my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

    Comment by Hearing screening at schools — 29 October 2012 @ 2:33

    • Hello. Yes I would be interested. I enjoy writing about technology. How would I get into it?

      Comment by Philippe Truche — 6 December 2012 @ 10:09

  2. May I simply say what a relief to discover somebody that truly knows what they are discussing on the web.
    You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people really need to read this and understand this side of the story.
    It’s surprising you aren’t more popular because you most certainly possess the gift.

    Comment by Study The Facts — 2 May 2013 @ 10:10


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

