Philippe Truche’s Blog

27 October 2008

PDC 08 Keynote – A Lukewarm Mood

Well,

Here I am at my third PDC (I attended PDC03 and PDC05), and I have to say that the mood at the keynote was the most lukewarm I have seen in the last 3 PDCs.  Perhaps it had to do with the topic: cloud computing.  Not that developers don’t care about it, but I think it tends not to be foremost in developers’ minds.  Now I think of the operations people I work with, and I think they would be impressed in the advances that are being made in manageability within the Microsoft platform.

It’s eratly in this PDC, but my take on this so far is that we are in a transition PDC.  Developers are still absorbing or getting educated on a large number of technologies like ASP.NET MVC, LINQ, Silverlight 2.0, etc… This PDC might jsut be incremental, showing a glimpse of the direction in which Microsoft is heading, with opportunities for feedback from the developer community.

The rest of this week will tell.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

