Philippe Truche’s Blog

19 October 2007

Mobile workers’ best friends

Filed under: Uncategorized — Philippe Truche @ 1:10

I read quite a few trade magazines, and every so often I read a segment on mobile workers and telecommuting.  While VPN has made it more easy to stay connected with the office, there are a couple of “best friends” that have worked well for me.

The first one is Remote Desktop Connection.  Once I have the VPN established, I often use Remote Desktop Connection to access my PC at work.  This is great because it’s like being in the office.  I have access to all my applications and data in one easy step.

The other “best friend” I have developed lately is my Western Digital 250 GB 2.5″ external hard drive.  Using Virtual PC 2007, I created a virtual hard disk on my external HD.  I then built my virtual machine like I would a physical.  The advantage is that I can carry my virtual machine in my pocket and fire it up from any computer that has Virtual PC 2007 and a USB 2.0 port.  At one point, I was pursuing having a bootable thumb drive; having a Virtual PC hard disk on my external HD has turned out to be quite a welcome substitute.

1 Comment »

  1. […] to my local Best Buy and decided to purchase a portable hard drive.  I noticed that one of my mentors was using a similar device for hosting Virtual PCs so I thought I would give it a try.  The […]

    Pingback by WD My Passport Review | John Sterrett's Blog — 5 July 2009 @ 5:52


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

